How to Speed Up Your Makeup Routine

I’m always running late. And I mean always. I could be walking out the door, ready to go, and suddenly remember something important I forgot to do. Forget about being on time–most of the time I’m just trying not to be too late.

That’s why I started hunting down ways to simplify my makeup routine. It’s definitely the part of getting ready that takes the longest–I can do my hair in minutes, shower in seconds, and get everything ready to go in what seems like no time at all. But the twenty or more minutes doing my makeup every day were starting to take a toll, so I had to figure out how to shorten my routine.

I found quite a few different methods–“Just don’t wear makeup” was a common one. I don’t know about you, but that’s not something I can do. Wearing makeup in public is essential, unless I want to look down at the ground and avoid eye contact all day. I’d rather find a method to make my makeup routine faster.

With some research, trial, and error, here’s what I came up with.

Use mascara by itself. Rather than spending a good five minutes on an eyeshadow look and another five slowly tracing the perfect winged eyeliner, wearing mascara alone (well, a few coats of it) opens up your eyes and makes you look awake. Have a few extra seconds? Smooth a neutral tone into your crease for added dimension.

Use powder rather than liquid foundation. If your skin doesn’t require the coverage of a liquid foundation, sweep on some powder and walk out the door. You won’t have to spend nearly as much time blending, and you’ll still give your skin a nice even look.

If your skin does require liquid foundation (I know my acne-prone skin does), use a concealer that matches your skin tone to erase any blemishes, then follow it up with powder foundation. Although this does add a step, taking away the liquid foundation from your routine will still speed up your makeup application.

Plan ahead. Just as you might set your clothes out the night before so you don’t spend a half hour choosing the perfect outfit, plan out your makeup look before executing it. You can do this the night before, while you’re doing your hair, while you’re in the shower … the choices are endless. The point is, don’t just sit at your makeup counter thinking about what you’re going to do. Take advantage of the time you have.

Enhance your best features. If you really don’t have time, just choose your best features and accentuate them. Whether it’s applying a matte lipstick (which you won’t have to touch up during the day!) to your full lips or luminizer to your high cheekbones, playing up your best features distracts from any imperfections you don’t have time to conceal.

Keep your makeup organized. Digging through cupboards and drawers and organizers wastes more time than you might think. If you have your makeup ready at your fingertips, your routine will go by much faster.

Not sure how to organize your makeup? Don’t worry, I have an a post about that coming soon! It’ll help you choose an organization system to invest in, show you how to separate your collection of makeup, and aid you in sticking to your chosen system.

Set your makeup. Not only is setting your makeup always a good idea, it ensures you won’t have to run back to the bathroom for touchups. Plus, a few spritzes of setting spray hardly take up any time.

Here’s to never being late again! Let me know how these tips worked for you in the comments below 🙂

Leave a Reply

