3 Minute Waves Tutorial

These waves are insanely easy, last all day, and they’re perfect for the days you’re running late! All you need is frizz cream, two hairties, a curling wand, and texture spray or hairspray.

If you’d prefer a video tutorial, please comment below! If I get five comments, I’ll film a tutorial and post it on YouTube. (I would’ve posted a video to this page, but unfortunately my WordPress plan doesn’t allow me to do so.)

Step 1: Smooth some frizz cream (I use John Frieda Frizz Ease Secret Weapon Touch-Up Creme) into hair, focusing on the crown of your head and the ends of your hair. This will calm down frizz and camouflage split ends.

Step 2: Divide your hair in half and secure it in two pigtails near your ears.

Step 3: Separate each pigtail into 2-3 pieces and curl. You may need to hold the hair to the iron a little longer than usual since you’re dealing with larger chunks of hair. Make sure to switch between curling toward your face and curling away from your face so that your curls don’t all blend together.

Step 4: Use texture spray (I use Not Your Mother’s Double Take Dry Finish Texture Spray) or hairspray to spray pigtails, separating them as you spray. I prefer texture spray to hairspray because it’s not sticky and allows my hair to move naturally. However, my hair holds curl very easily. If yours doesn’t, I’d recommend using hairspray instead.

Step 5: Take out pigtails, shake them out, flip your head over, and spray some more texture spray or hairspray.

Step 6: Flip your head back over, arrange your hair as you like, and spray a little more texture spray or hairspray to keep it in place if necessary.

Voila! Nearly instant waves! This is my go-to hairstyle when I’m low on time and don’t feel like throwing my hair into a ponytail or bun. It can work on second-day hair too–just use some dry shampoo before starting the process.

Want more quick and easy hairstyles? Let me know in the comments below!

Leave a Reply

