Too Faced Peanut Butter and Jelly: A Full Review

pbj

To read about Too Faced: The Brand, visit my Too Faced Natural Matte review. Today we’ll be talking about the Too Faced Peanut Butter and Jelly palette, which has been insanely popular since it was released! It comes with six shimmer shades and three matte shades. For swatches and full info on the palette, read on!

Price: 10/10

Like I said with the last Too Faced palette, I consider the brand to be high-quality and one of the best in the industry. For me, $36 is a reasonable price for a palette of this size.

Packaging: 10/10

As soon as I saw this palette, I knew I had to have it. The packaging is super cute and the colors inside are so aesthetically pleasing! Plus, the smell (not so much like peanut butter, but super chocolate-y) just adds to the fun.

Application: 10/10

Super smooth and easy to apply, and not a lot of fallout. No complaints here.

Color Payoff: 7/10

  • I have to say that I was really disappointed with Jelly. I thought it would be an electric purple color, but you can see in the swatch below that it’s more of a faded light purple. You have to wet your brush and really pack on the pigment to make the shadow match the shade in the palette.
  • Peanut Brittle is an obvious winner for me on this palette. It’s extremely true to color and makes your eyes stand out.
  • Peanut Butter is a great transition shade.
  • I expected Peanut Butter Cup to be a darker, richer brown. It is when you first apply it, but after blending it fades out.
  • Nuts About You is another winner for me. It’s rich and true to color.
  • Spread the Love and Extra Creamy both work well as highlight shades.
  • Bananas is sort of like Jelly–you have to really work with it to get it to match the intensity it has in the palette.
  • I tend to forget about Jammin’; it just isn’t a color I turn to often. In my opinion, it doesn’t mesh very well with the other colors.

Wear: 9/10

Just like with Natural Matte, the colors will fade a bit by the end of the day, but your look will still be intact.

Overall Score: 9.2/10

 

Palette vs. Swatch

pbj2

From left to right: Spread the Love (barely visible), Peanut Butter, Peanut Butter Cup, Bananas, Peanut Brittle, Jammin’, Extra Creamy (barely visible), Jelly, and Nuts about U

Additional Notes:

I used this palette in one of my makeup looks here on The Renaissance Girl, PB&J Eyes and Mauve Lips, as well as the eye look I wore today.

Processed with MOLDIV
Today’s PB&J eye look

 

Overall Recommendation

Although this isn’t a palette I reach for every day, the colors really make it worth the price. It’s definitely not for everybody with the focus on orange, but I think it would be flattering on the majority of skin tones and eye colors. I personally love experimenting with this palette and highly recommend it!

You can purchase the Too Faced Peanut Butter and Jelly here.

Leave a Reply

