A Few of My Favorite Books

For my fellow book lovers, I just wanted to briefly talk about a few of my favorite books and series.

  • Harry Potter series – I’m always amazed by the way J.K. Rowling creates an entire (and very complex) world within these seven books. Over the years I’ve read and re-read them several times. These books are what I turn to when I don’t know what to read or want to cure my boredom.

hpseries

  • A Series of Unfortunate Events series – Lemony Snicket is extremely clever. I loved that as a kid, and I love it now. Although these books (like the Harry Potter series and a couple other books on this list) are meant for children, they’re still wildly entertaining and so strange that you just have to keep reading.

thebadbeginning

  • Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children series – These books by Ransom Riggs are newer than the other two series I mentioned, and they’re by far the most odd, which says a lot. Based on creepy old photographs that are included in the books, these novels have romance, comedy, action, and some really good dialogue as well.

peregrine.jpg

  • Someone Like You by Sarah Dessen – When I first read this, I was too young to fully understand what it was talking about (it’s about boys, and loss). But as I re-read it, it never fails to strike a chord with me. I think all girls go through something like Halley (the protagonist) does while in high school.

someone-like-you

  • The Book Thief by Markus Zusak – This book has one of the most fascinating concepts I’ve ever read. Told from the perspective of Death and centering on one girl and her life, the novel never fails to completely captivate the reader.

bookthief

  • Room by Emma Donoghue – If you saw the movie and liked it, read the book immediately. Told from the perspective of a five-year-old, this novel shows how deep the bond between mother and child is, while also displaying the pure innocence of children even when in the presence of evil.

room

  • The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larsson – Even though it has about five storylines going on, this novel is incredible. The characters are extremely well-developed, and the plot is shocking. This is a great read for anyone who loves thrillers that start out slow.

dragontattoo.jpg

  • Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher – As someone who has struggled quite a bit with depression, this book holds a special place in my heart. It’s basically the story of a girl who committed suicide and left a suicide note on a cassette tape explaining why she did it. It shows why the little things matter, and hopefully inspires others to think about the way people may be feeling even if they don’t show it on the outside.

thirteenreasonswhy.jpg

  • The Host by Stephenie Meyer – Okay, I was not a big fan of the Twilight books, but this one was something much different. The Host is so much more complex and well thought-out than Stephenie Meyer’s other books. Relationships between characters are well-developed, and the storyline is intriguing enough to keep you reading for several hundred pages.

thehost

  • The City of Ember series by Jeanine DuPrau – Yes, this is another series written for children, but it’s a post-apocalyptic series and that’s something I just can’t resist. I love reading about the worlds authors create after the world we know has been destroyed. I love contemplating how different life could be if we lived the way the people in the city of Ember do, for example.

cityofember.jpg

  • Flowers in the Attic series by Virginia Andrews – These books may take some time to get into, but once they grab your attention, you’re hooked. I can’t explain how fascinating the story of these four children (adults, eventually) is or how complex the relationships between siblings become.

flowersattic

What’s your all-time favorite book? Give me some recommendations in the comments below!

One Comment Add yours

  1. melaninmommie says:

    Harry Potter, The flowers in the attic and the book thief are so amazing! I was so surprised to see the Book thief on your list! I’ve never known of anyone else to read it! I’m definitely going to Check out the other books on this list! Thanks for sharing 😊

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

