Pixi by Petra Copper Peach Palette: A Full Review

pixi

You guys might be shocked I’m not doing a Too Faced product this week! Instead I’ve chosen to review a palette I can’t quite make up my mind about: The Mesmerizing Mineral Palette in Copper Peach by Pixi by Petra.

Pixi by Petra: The Brand

Petra Strand, the brand’s creator, has over 20 years of experience as a makeup artist and product developer. She created Pixi over 10 years ago and the brand has thrived, thanks to its innovative formulations that include botanicals and other beneficial ingredients. Pixi’s mission is “to make women look like themselves, only better.”

Today we’re talking about the Copper Peach palette, which features “six silky, coordinated, must-have shades to use together or solo[.]” The palette contains peach, bronze, and russet shades.

Price: 9/10

For being a growing name in the cosmetics industry, $12 is an extremely reasonable price. However, due to a few drawbacks that I’ll expand on below, I feel like the price could be a little lower.

Packaging: 10/10

Although the packaging isn’t cutesy or themed, I like the clean, simple look of the palette, as with the rest of the Pixi by Petra line. I also liked that the shadows were aligned vertically rather than horizontally. It was something different that drew me in.

Application: 6/10

I had to wet my brush to make these shades less flaky and to deepen the pigmentation. Colors blended well, but part of the reason they blended so well is because many of the shades are extremely similar.

Color Payoff: 5/10

The color payoff without wetting your brush or pressing on pigment is just “eh.” It’s nothing to be excited about. If you do go that extra step and wet your brush and pack on the pigment, there are some nice shades.

Wear: 6/10

These definitely wear down throughout the day, although they do look beautiful when first applied.

Overall Score: 7.2/10

Palette vs. Swatch

Additional Notes

Today I used this palette for my eye look. Believe it or not, I used all six shades to create the look below. I used the top shade as an eyebrow highlight, the second shade as an inner eye highlight, the third shade to define my lower lash line and on the outer edge of my lid, the fourth shade on the inner half of my lid, the fifth shade on the outer half of my lid, and the sixth shade in my crease and to define my upper lash line.

As you can tell, many of the colors blend together or aren’t visible at all. However, I do like this eye look. It’s light but still eye-catching.

Overall Recommendation

This is a good drugstore palette in my opinion. Yes, you do have to put in a little extra effort to make the colors pop, but it’s not expensive and has some great shades (my favorites are the fourth and fifth).

You can purchase the Pixi by Petra Mesmerizing Mineral Palette in Copper Peach here.

Leave a Reply

