Smashbox X-Rated Mascara: A Full Review

xrated.jpg

This is another widely-known mascara on the market. According to Smashbox, “This ultra-buildable mascara lets you easily take your lashes from PG to X-Rated in seconds. Our triple threat brush loads up the maximum amount of our fiber-loaded formula to build your look. With each swipe, lashes are isolated, magnified and mega-coated for hyper, thick voluptuous lashes that photograph flawlessly in any close-up. No double-dipping required.” Those are some pretty big claims!

Below, take a look at my lashes before, after, and with a second coat.

Processed with MOLDIV
Before mascara
Processed with MOLDIV
One coat of X-Rated mascara
Processed with MOLDIV
Two coats of X-Rated mascara

Next let’s check out how this mascara matches up to each of the specific benefits Smashbox talks about in the product description.

 

  • Extremely long-wearing formula for luscious lashes, day to night

I can attest to this one. I normally layer this mascara with another and it stays intact all day and all night (if I happen to be going out).

  • Triple Threat brush isolates, magnifies & mega-coats each lash with an interlocking fiber-loaded formula

I don’t feel that this claim is accurate. As you can see in the photo with two coats of mascara, my eyelashes are starting to get clumpy rather than isolated. I would agree with the fact that the mascara magnifies and mega-coats lashes.

  • Tripod fibers stack on lashes for endless volume

There is definitely a huge difference in volume when you compare my bare lashes to my lashes with one coat of mascara.

  • Amplifies & lifts with each layer

I disagree with this claim. I feel that one layer was the perfect amount of mascara. When I added a second coat, my lashes felt weighed down and clumped together.

  • Flake & smudge-free

This is definitely true. As I said before, I often wear this all day long and have never noticed an issue with flaking or smudging.

Overall recommendation: This is a good mascara, but I wouldn’t say it’s great or a must-have. Layered with another mascara it definitely goes above and beyond. If you do use this mascara, I would suggest sticking to one layer to avoid clumping.

Looking for a stocking stuffer for a friend or family member? You can buy a deluxe sample of Smashbox X-Rated mascara for only $5 here.

 

 

Leave a Reply

