Choosing a Theme for Your Year

Well, I know I’m a little late with this one since it’s almost February, but better late than never, right?

This year I decided to do something a little different with my New Year’s resolutions. Instead of a long list of goals that are nearly impossible to accomplish, I decided to focus on a single word and let that be my resolution or theme for the entire year.

resolutions

I chose the word “motivation.” 2016 was not my best year. I was going through a lot of personal problems and things that really held me back. I dropped out of school, left my job, and quit cheerleading. My life basically fell apart. But this year, 2017, I’m determined to change all of that. I’ve started taking classes online and job searching like crazy, and I set regular goals for myself so that I stay on track. Choosing that one word, “motivation,” has really helped me whenever I feel like laying in bed all day instead of being productive. It’s forced me to work and study when I’d much rather be doing anything else. Having “motivation” as my sole New Year’s resolution has, so far, motivated me more than any other resolution has in the past.

motivation

So now I’m recommending this method to all of you! Look at your list of resolutions–or if you don’t have resolutions, just think about your goals for this year. What do they all have in common? Sum it up in one word or a short phrase, something easy to remember. Now here are a few ideas to put that theme into action and stick with it:

  • If you’re artsy or enjoy Pinterest crafts, paint a canvas or make another decoration that coincides with your theme. Hang it up in your room or office, anywhere that you’re going to see it regularly.

decorations

  • Write it down in your planner or on your calendar so you have a constant reminder.

planner

  • In a notebook, make a checkmark each day you feel like you’ve fulfilled your theme. I don’t know if it’s just me, but checking things off is pretty gratifying.

checklist

What do you think about setting a “theme” for the year rather than having traditional resolutions? Let me know in the comments below!

Leave a Reply

